Black Studies Databases

Services
Find
About Us

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women’s studies, and other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. Academic Search Complete is updated daily.
URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

Accessible Archives Contain comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books as well as eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, and genealogical records.
URL: http://www.accessible.com

African American Biographical Database Brings together in one resource the biographies of thousands of African Americans, many not to be found in any other reference source. This extraordinary collection contains extended narratives of African American activists, business people, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, religious workers, government workers, athletes, farmers, scientists, factory workers, and more--both the famous and the everyday person. AABD draws its initial content from Chadwyck-Healey’s acclaimed Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950 and includes descriptive listings of individuals taken from Black Biography, 1790-1950:
URL: http://aabd.chadwyck.com/

America: History and Life America: History & Life is an electronic database that covers the history and culture of the Americas from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages, this database is an important tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=web&defaultdb=ahl

Black Studies Center The Black Studies Center supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines. This resource includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience,International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), two historical black newspapers (Chicago Defender and the Daily Defender), and the Black Literature Index.
URL: http://bsc.chadwyck.com/home/home.do

Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience includes interdisciplinary essays and a series of topical studies designed to help define the development of Black Studies as an academic field written by leading scholars on the Black Experience.
URL: http://bsc.chadwyck.com/search/initAdvancedSearch.do

The International Index to Black Periodicals covers scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, including full text for many titles. The Marshall Index is a guide to black periodicals, 1940-1946.
URL: http://bsc.chadwyck.com/search/initAdvancedSearch.do

Chicago Defender and the Daily Defender—full text access to these newspapers from 1910—1976; 1999 to present available in Ethnic Newswatch .
URL: http://bsc.chadwyck.com/search/initAdvancedSearch.do

Black Literature Index—Over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
URL: http://bsc.chadwyck.com/search/initAdvancedSearch.do

Black Studies in Video "This collection features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations."
URL: http://blst.alexanderstreet.com

Black Thought and Culture Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. It contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans including the words of Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Gwendolyn Brooks, Huey P. Newton, James Baldwin, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Cornel West, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., and hundreds of other notable people.
URL: http://solomon.bltc.alexanderstreet.com/

Gale Virtual Reference Library:
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely at all times.

Black Studies titles included in the Gale Virtual Reference Library include

AIDS, 2008
Black Literature Criticism, 2008
Contemporary Black Biography. v. 47 (2005)–v. 71 (2009)
Encyclopedia of African American Education, 2010
Encyclopedia of African American History, 2010
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 2009
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2000
Harlem Renaissance, 2001
Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources, 2007
Milestone Documents in African American History, 2008
Milestone Documents in American History, 2000
New Encyclopedia of Africa, 2008
URL: http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/uiuc_csu?db=gvrl

ERIC (EBSCO) A national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals. This is a good choice for ERIC because of the increased full-text linkage from all EBSCO databases.
URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=web&defaultdb=eric

HarpWeek Provides electronic access to Harper’s Weekly, the illustrated 19th century “Journal of Civilization” for a 56-year period: 1857-1912. Harper's Weekly is perhaps the most important primary resource for examining 19th-century America on a cumulative week-to-week basis. Included access to news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature and even advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in this era.
URL: http://app.harpweek.com/

JSTOR Arts and Sciences 1 (119 titles) is JSTOR’s first collection includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, ecology, mathematics, and statistics. Arts and Sciences IV (112 titles) has a strong focus on the professions of business, education, and law, and also includes titles in psychology, public policy and administration.
URL: http://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the humanities and social sciences

Includes 2.4 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from 1861.

Features 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format from 1997 forward and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.


URL: http://search.proquest.com/pqdtft/advanced?accountid=10079