Quick Fact—A database is an organized collection of
data for a specific purpose. For example PsycInfo is a database
of articles and books published in the psychology literature.
Chicago State University purchases database access for those who
have an association with CSU. To verify association with CSU, the
library asks for your CSU email account, user name, and password.
When attempting to access databases from off campus, you will be
asked to provide your CSU email user name and password.
To access databases from off campus, from the alphabetical list of
databases, simply click on any database. Two small boxes will appear
like this in the upper left portion of your screen.
Your user name is your CSU email account user name. Your user
name is the first half or first part of your e-mail account everything
up to the @ symbol. Do not include the @csu.edu. For example, if
your email account is sjones@csu.edu, your user name is sjones.
The password required is the CSU Cougar Connect password. You should
have received a letter in the mail with your CSU email user name
and password. This is also your authentication
username and password.
If you have questions about your CSU e-mail account, please visit
the Library Help Center in the Library- NAL 147. The Help Desk can
be reached by phone at 773 995-2537 or 773 995 2211.
Help, Tutorials, and Guides
We utilize several providers of electronic databases including EBSCO,
JSTOR, FirstSearch, and Proquest. Each provider describes detailed
use of its database. These presentations may require the use of a
Flash® player.