Using Databases

Services
Find
About Us

Off Campus Access to Library Resources

Chicago State University purchases database access for those who have an association with CSU. To verify association with CSU, the library asks for your CSU email account, user name, and password.

When attempting to access databases from off campus, you will be asked to provide your CSU email user name and password.

To access databases from off campus, from the alphabetical list of databases, simply click on any database. Two small boxes will appear like this in the upper left portion of your screen.

 
 

Your user name is your CSU email account user name. Your user name is the first half or first part of your e-mail account everything up to the @ symbol. Do not include the @csu.edu. For example, if your email account is sjones@csu.edu, your user name is sjones.

The password required is the CSU Cougar Connect password. You should have received a letter in the mail with your CSU email user name and password. This is also your Moodle logo authentication username and password.

If you have questions about your CSU e-mail account, please visit the Library Help Center in the Library- NAL 147. The Help Desk can be reached by phone at 773 995-2537 or 773 995 2211.

Help, Tutorials, and Guides

We utilize several providers of electronic databases including EBSCO, JSTOR, FirstSearch, and Proquest. Each provider describes detailed use of its database. These presentations may require the use of a Flash® player.

The JSTOR® Database
How to search JSTOR
URL: http://about.jstor.org/support-training/help/how-search-jstor
JSTOR: Advanced searching tutorial
URL: http://about.jstor.org/support-training/help/advanced-searching-jstor
A—Z list of EBSCO® Databases
EBSCO is one of our biggest database providers. The following list will give you the titles of databases that EBSCO provides.
List of EBSCO databases
When you search EBSCO databases, you will see the EBSCO Logo ( xxx ) on the top left hand side of your screen. URL:http://search.ebscohost.com/
Guided style tutorial (Adobe Flash)
The following tutorial will assist you to search EBSCO databases.
URL:http://support.epnet.com/training/flash_videos/adv_guided/adv_guided.html
FirstSearch® Tutorial
Here is an OCLC FirstSearch® tutorial on selecting a databases, then searching for and using the results.
URL: http://www.oclc.org/support/documentation/firstsearch/using/refcard/
 
Proquest® Tutorial
This is a Microsoft Word® document, and may require the use of StarOffice® or another text processor capable of opening MS Word files.
(DOC file) URL: http://training.proquest.com/trc/training/en/gettingstarted.doc
 
RefWorks Basics
This is a guide to the RefWorks personal database that can “organize all your research.” See more tutorials, including how to login, at http://www.refworks.com/tutorial/.
URL: http://library.csu.edu/tutorials/basics%20open.htm